The cookie settings on this website are set to 'allow all cookies' to give you the very best experience. Please click Accept Cookies to continue to use the site.


$13.95 $11.95
(You save $2.00)
(3 reviews) Write a Review
usually ships in 1 business day


AMAZING BRASS - including the new "Quintet" by Michael Kamen, premiered by Canadian Brass in 2002.

mp3 Digital Download available here


1. Drei verschiedene Stücke [Galliard Battaglia; Wendet euch um ihr Aderlein; Canzon Aechiopican } (Scheidt) 
2. Canzona per sonare I (Gabrieli/Mills) 
3. Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565 (Bach/Mills) 
4. My Melancholy Baby (Burnett/Henderson) 
5. Black Bottom Stomp (Morton/Henderson) 
6. Amazing Grace (trad./Henderson) 
7. Canon (Pachelbel/Mills) 
8. Arrival of the Queen of Sheba (Handel/Cable) 
9. St. Louis Blues (Handy/Henderson) 
10. Quintet (Michael Kamen) 
11. Glen Miller Songbook [Moonlight Serenade; String of Pearls; Danny Boy; American Patrol; At Last; In the Mood] (Miller/Dedrick) 
12. Someone to Watch Over Me (Gershwin/Henderson) 
13. Tommy Dorsey Medley [Opus One; Getting Sentimental Over You; We'll Git It] (Dorsey/Ferguson) 
14. Air on a G String (Bach/Frackenpohl) 
15. High Society (Swan/Capeland/Greene/Henderson)

100% satisfaction guaranteed

3 Reviews Hide Reviews Show Reviews

  • 5
    Excellent Variety in New CD

    Posted by The Rev. James T. Swanson on 8th Sep 2015

    I ordered this because the Brass Group in which I play Tuba, is working on the Glenn Miller Arrangement. I had no idea I would get a wonderful variety of other songs, Jazz, Classical, Pop, etc. My first time hearing the new fellows. Wonderful Job and CD!

  • 5
    Polished playing by the veteran Canadian Brass

    Posted by All Music Guide on 11th Mar 2011

    The veterans of the Canadian Brass here show why the group continues to attract big audiences despite a good deal of competition they themselves have inspired. By now their seamless blend, made possible by the way each individual instrumentalist polishes his attack down to a seductive gentleness, is familiar to almost everyone who listens to over-the-air or Internet classical radio. The Canadian Brass sound has survived numerous changes in personnel and is by now widely imitated. Not so easy to imitate, and probably more significant in the end, is the group's innovative programming. Ensembles of various kinds mix classical and jazz materials in concert and on recordings. But few indeed are able to draw on a large repertoire and apply the musical sensitivity necessary to make the listener forget that anything unusual is being done. Although the rudimentary liner notes refer to "Music on the Classical Side" and "Music on the Jazz Side," the program is not divided into two parts but intertwines the two "sides" in unexpected ways. Bach's Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565, would not seem a good fit for a segue into My Melancholy Baby, but hear the end of track 5 and the beginning of track 6 for a taste of why the Canadian Brass has been so successful. The pairing of Amazing Grace and the Pachelbel Canon takes materials that could have been overfamiliar and makes of them a lovely and spiritual interlude. How do they do it? Somehow the anchoring of the group's sound in the brass music of the early Baroque, a big chunk of which opens the program, provides a perspective that arches over the variety of music that appears later in the program -- that's part of it, along with great subtlety in the various arrangements group members have done over the years. Apparently issued by the group itself, this release suffers from unattractive graphic design. The talents of the musicians, however, remain undiminished.

  • 5
    Amazing Performance

    Posted by Musical Heritage Society on 11th Mar 2011

    There is no such thing as a dull performance from the Canadian Brass. From the start, this ensemble of undeniably talented musicians has always assured audiences a crowd-pleasing time, from their wide-ranging virtuosity to their wacky antics.
    One area in which this ensemble has managed to set itself apart is in its ability to seamlessly cross between classical and jazz styles. And this disc is no exception. Amazing Brass spans musical styles from classical to jazz and the Swing Era.

    Amazing Brass features some equally impressive arrangements of music by George Gershwin, Glenn Miller, Jelly Roll Morton and Tommy Dorsey. But this disc also includes the group's signature stylings on selections from Bach, Gabrieli and Pachelbel. Luther Henderson's hand is evident in these arrangements, playing with each instrument's sound to show off the individual talents of each performer in the group.

    So go ahead and grab this CD and prepare yourself for another boisterous blend of music from "today's leading brass ensemble." This recording will not disappoint!