The cookie settings on this website are set to 'allow all cookies' to give you the very best experience. Please click Accept Cookies to continue to use the site.

Tochter Zion: Brass Quartet and Organ (Handel)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
In Stock
Tochter Zion: Brass Quartet and Organ (Handel)
Music Box Brass Quartet and Organ
Series: De Haske Ensemble
Publisher: De Haske Publications
Composer: Georg Friedrich Händel
Arranger: Jan de Haan
Level: 3
Tochter Zion, also known as See the Conquering Hero Comes, is the most famous chorus from the oratorio Judas Maccabaeus by the composer George Frideric Handel (1685-1759), who was born as a German and died an Englishman. He composed Judas Maccabaeus in 1746. The heroic epic based on the Biblical story about commander-in-chief Judas Maccabaeus, was used by Handel to celebrate the English victory over the rebellious Scottish. The first performance of this patriotic work – written in the pleasing, rich baroque style that Handel's music is known for – was conducted by himself; the success was huge. The chorus “See the Conquering Hero Comes” was added later, in 1748, drawn from another oratorio (Joshua).