The cookie settings on this website are set to 'allow all cookies' to give you the very best experience. Please click Accept Cookies to continue to use the site.

Four Early Piano Pieces for Brass Quintet (Rachmaninoff/arr. Rickard) PDF Download

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
immediately available
Four Early Piano Pieces for Brass Quintet (Rachmaninoff/arr. Rickard) PDF Download

GRADE 3 - 3.5

Rachmaninoff's {1873-1943) credentials as a writer of melodies have long been established, with memorable examples of this melodic gift including Variation 18 of Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini {Op. 43), Vocalise (Op. 34, no.14), Piano Concerto No. 2 {Op. 18) and the clarinet solo from the second movement of his Symphony No. 2 {Op. 27). This is perhaps more remarkable given the fact that his career spanned the atonality and serial techniques of the Second Viennese school, fledgling electronic and electroacoustic compositions, and arguably his tonal, rhythmic and harmonic antithesis in the works of compatriot Igor Stravinsky. 

This lovely Suite of Four Early Piano Pieces by Sergei Rachmaninoff is transcribed for brass quintet by Tony Rickard.  A score and parts for all instruments is included (2 Bb trumpets, horn, trombone and tuba).

1. Canon in E minor (c. 1891)

2. Romance {1894)

3. Melodie and 4. Gavotte (from Four Pieces 1887)

Satisfaction guaranteed