The cookie settings on this website are set to 'allow all cookies' to give you the very best experience. Please click Accept Cookies to continue to use the site.

Ensemble Vivant - Palm Court Pleasures

$14.95 $13.95
(You save $1.00)
(No reviews yet) Write a Review
In Stock
Ensemble Vivant - Palm Court Pleasures
Ensemble Vivant — the core of which is piano, violin and cello — has been recording and performing to sold-out houses throughout North America and Europe for over 20 years. Their quest is to discover and reveal rarely heard but deserving works from the classical repertoire as well new versions of vastly diverse styles from jazz to musical theatre to Latin Dance. No matter the genre, the repertoire chosen for is timeless and at the same time new. Whether an old favorite or an intriguing discovery, each piece displays the ensemble’s radiant energy and attention to detail.

The group’s center is pianist Catherine Wilson. Repeatedly honored for her exceptional artistry and sensitive musicality, virtuoso pianist she is one of this generation’s most interesting and innovative classical instrumentalists. She has won the hearts of fans and critics alike with inspired, soulful interpretations. Her renditions of Chopin (described as “exquisite” by the Toronto Star) have been compared to the great Arthur Rubinstein. Ms. Wilson made her triumphant debut at Carnegie Hall in New York City in 2005 at the invitation of Maestro Skitch Henderson and the New York Pops where she performed the Leroy Anderson Piano Concerto.

Ensemble Vivant is dedicated to celebrating excellence in the performance and recording of great music, Catherine and the Ensemble are excited and proud to be able to introduce innovative artists and beautifully crafted music programs.

Notes on the music

Palm Court Pleasures is Ensemble Vivant’s debut recording which literally put the group on the map and created a sensation. From their inception Ensemble Vivant has had a love for diverse music ranging from classical to ragtime. The album includes classical standards — Arrival of the Queen of Sheba by Handel, Waltz in A-flat Major, Op. 69, No. 1 by Chopin and Hungarian Dance No. 5 by Brahms — but also great ragtime — Bethena Waltz and Elite Syncopations by Scott Joplin as well as songs from the stage — Someone to Watch Over Me by George Gershwin and I’ll See You Again by Noel Coward.

Ensemble Vivant - Palm Court Pleasures Track Listing:

Palm Court Pleasures

1. Solomon, oratorio, HWV 67 by Handel, George Frederick
2. Bethena, waltz for piano by Joplin, Scott
3. Liebesfreud (Love's Joy), for violin & piano by Kreisler, Fritz
4. Sackville Street Ballad, for violin, cello & piano by Wilson, Catherine
5. Ragtime Nightingale, for piano by Lamb, Joseph
6. Les Pêcheurs de perles, opera in 3 acts by Bizet, Georges
7. Hungarian Dance for piano, 4 hands, in G minor, WoO 1/5 by Brahms, Johannes
8. Elite Syncopations, for piano by Joplin, Scott
9. Waltz for piano No. 9 in A flat major ("L'adieu") Op. 69/1, CT. 215 by Chopin, Frederic
10. Tango de la Rose, for piano by Shreier,
11. Du und Du (You and You), waltz for orchestra, Op. 367 (RV 367) by Strauss, Johann II
12. Oh Gee! Oh Joy!, song (from Rosalie, musical) by Gershwin, George
13. Menuet célèbre, humoresque de concert for piano in G major, Op. 14/1 by Paderewski, Ignace Jan
14. I'll See You Again, song (from "Bitter Sweet") by Coward, Noel
15. Someone to Watch Over Me, song (from Oh, Kay!, musical) by Gershwin, George