The cookie settings on this website are set to 'allow all cookies' to give you the very best experience. Please click Accept Cookies to continue to use the site.

Ensemble Vivant - Fete Francaise

$14.95 $13.95
(You save $1.00)
(2 reviews) Write a Review
In Stock
Ensemble Vivant - Fete Francaise

Sorry but this item is currently out of stock, please try again later.

Ensemble Vivant — the core of which is piano, violin and cello — has been recording and performing to sold-out houses throughout North America and Europe for over 20 years. Their quest is to discover and reveal rarely heard but deserving works from the classical repertoire as well new versions of vastly diverse styles from jazz to musical theatre to Latin Dance. No matter the genre, the repertoire chosen for is timeless and at the same time new. Whether an old favorite or an intriguing discovery, each piece displays the ensemble’s radiant energy and attention to detail.

The group’s center is pianist Catherine Wilson. Repeatedly honored for her exceptional artistry and sensitive musicality, virtuoso pianist she is one of this generation’s most interesting and innovative classical instrumentalists. She has won the hearts of fans and critics alike with inspired, soulful interpretations. Her renditions of Chopin (described as “exquisite” by the Toronto Star) have been compared to the great Arthur Rubinstein. Ms. Wilson made her triumphant debut at Carnegie Hall in New York City in 2005 at the invitation of Maestro Skitch Henderson and the New York Pops where she performed the Leroy Anderson Piano Concerto.

Ensemble Vivant is dedicated to celebrating excellence in the performance and recording of great music, Catherine and the Ensemble are excited and proud to be able to introduce innovative artists and beautifully crafted music programs.
  1. trio in g major, claude debussey
  2. andantino con molto allegro
  3. scherzo intermezzo
  4. andante espressivo
  5. finale soirs d'alsace, op 52, charles-marie widor
  6. en route!
  7. ciel d'orage
  8. le calme renait
  9. promenade sentimentale, septet in e flat major, op. 65 for trumpet, two violins, viola, cello, bass and piano, camille saint-saëns
  10. préambule
  11. menuet
  12. intermède
  13. gavotte et finale

2 Reviews Hide Reviews Show Reviews

  • 5
    Ensemble Vivant uncovers new treaures!

    Posted by on 11th Mar 2011

    Of particular note for me is the Debussy Piano Trio in G, an early work which was suppressed by the composer and only came to light in 1980. The CD includes two other rarities, a charming
    collection of Alsatian folk Charles-Marie Widor, and a Septet by Camille Saint-Saëns.

    This latter is a backward-looking work which had it been composed 50 years later—in 1930 instead of 1880—would have been called neo-classical, or more accurately neo-baroque.

    Congratulations to Ensemble Vivant for uncovering these works and presenting them with their usual flare.

  • 5
    Music Making that is a Delight

    Posted by Musical Heritage Society on 11th Mar 2011

    Ensemble Vivant, hailed as “Canadas Chamber Music Treasure” specializes in diverse repertoire which includes classical, ragtime, tango and Tin Pan Alley. The group, with piano, violin and cello at its core has embraced new works and arrangements for chamber ensemble since their formation in 1988. Their latest album, Fête Francais, features music of three French composers – Claude Debussy, Charles-Marie Widor and Camille Saint-Saëns. Leader and pianist Catherine Wilson noted about this recording “I have always been fascinated by France, awed by its beauty and excited by its culture, which is an intriguing mix of deep tradition and innovation. I am particularly engaged by works that defy easy categorization, and in this respect the French post-romantic era is rich indeed. Perhaps I am attracted to artists who were tenaciously independent in their vision.” Debussy’s Trio in G, written when Debussy was only 18 years old, certainly meets that definition. The four-movement work is full of romantic references but Debussy’s originality shines through. The work opens with a plaintive melody, while the second movement scherzo has a mysterious quality. The third movement features expressive work by cellist Sharon Prator and violinist Erica Beston. The Finale is a recapitulation of themes heard in the first movement. The playing is incisive, buoyant, and texturally full. Saint-Saëns created his Septet with a nod toward the classical era –with four movements that include a minuet and a gavotte. The work is unusual as it includes the trumpet in its instrumentation. It was created on commission from La Trompette, a wind music society at the Imperial Military Academy of Paris. Widor, more well-known for his “organ symphonies, was also a composer of piano chamber music. Soirs d’Alsace (Evenings in Alsace) is a descriptive work that depicts four very different evenings in Alsace, a region of northern France, where Widor grew up. With their own sound and sensibility, Ensemble Vivant offers a unique album that is vastly entertaining and makes listening a pleasure. This is music making at it most charming and delightful.